South Africa recall Serero for Nigeria clash

South Africa have recalled Thulani Serero for a key 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Group E qualifier against Nigeria on November 17 in Soweto despite his refusal to play last year.


The 28-year-old midfielder, who plays for Dutch club Vitesse, ignored a call-up last year after coach Stuart Baxter rejected his demand for a starting place.

“Thulani has given us his word that he is fully committed to playing for the national team again,” Baxter said.

“He is a quiet boy in the dressing room and I am working on the assumption that everybody can make a mistake.

“This is a second chance for Thulani and he has the quality that we need in our attacking game against Nigeria.”

Serero, Lebo Mothiba of Strasbourg, Dino Ndlovu of Zhejiang Greentown in China and Percy Tau from Belgian outfit Royal Union Saint are the four foreign-based stars in the squad.

South Africa stunned Nigeria 2-0 in Uyo on matchday 1 and another victory against the Super Eagles would guarantee qualification for the Cup of Nations, due to take place in Cameroon next June and July.

Nigeria have nine points, South Africa eight, Libya four and the Seychelles one with two rounds remaining. The countries finishing first and second qualifying.

No, Rohr No


Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Wits), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)‚ Ronwen Williams (SuperSport Utd)

Defenders: Sifiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo (capt), Buhle Mkhwanazi (all Wits)‚ Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns)‚ Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)‚ Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City), Ramahwle Mphahlele (Chiefs)‚ Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg Utd)

Midfielders: Hlompho Kekana, Lebogang Maboe, Tiyani Mabunda (all Sundowns)‚ Thembinkosi Lorch, Vincent Pule (both Pirates)‚ Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg Utd)‚ Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport)‚ Thulani Serero (Vitesse/NED)

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg/FRA)‚ Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang Greentown/CHN)‚ Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint/BEL), Themba Zwane (Sundowns)

Rohr: Nigeria ‘ll win 2019 AFCON ticket in S/Africa